Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.





Nursing Information

A one-stop shop for all the tools the nursing department needs

Ranger College Databases

Ranger College offers many ways to access information you may need for your classes.  Below is a list of databases and their descriptions you can link through the library.  Not all databases are the same.  One may focus on medications while another focuses on case histories. Be sure you are looking in the right place

CINAHL Plus

CINAHL Plus is the cumulative index to nursing and allied health literature.  Access over 5,400 indexed medical journals, over 75 full-text medical journals, and over 125 Evidence-Based care sheets.  Your professor will provide the login and password to registered nursing students.

 

 

 

If you use a database you would like to see included on this or any other subject list, please feel free to share it with us.  We update our LibGuides daily.

TexShare Databases                            TexShare logo

Many of Ranger College’s databases are available through the TexShare, a statewide resource sharing program.  You can access any database in TexShare by selecting your school and using our password:

tx76470

When you click a link for a TexShare database you will be taken to their A-Z list and will need to select the database you are looking for from it.  TexShare databases specifically related to nursing are:

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.  Full-text from major nursing journals and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.

Medline

Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.  An essential resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers; created by the National Library of Medicine.

GALE Health and Medicine

Access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets.  The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Nearly 80 full-text, consumer health magazines, health-related pamphlets, health reference books, Clinical Reference Systems reports, Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, education sheets and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.

Open Source

In addition to subscriptions, your library curates a collection of open-source resources.  You could find and access these on your own, but by accessing open-source resources through the library you can choose from similar sites without having to sort out the terrible sites a search engine finds.  You can be sure these sites offer legitimate, valid information your professors will accept. 

PubMed Central

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).  PMC contains more than 6 million full-text records, spanning several centuries of biomedical and life science research (late 1700s to present).

Our World in Data

Statistical data on tons of current topics in easy to understand and use formats

Merck Manual

Information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more.  Written for health care professionals and caregivers.  There are three types of resource available here:  Professional, Consumer, and Veterinary.

Please contact us at 254-647-1414 or library@rangercollege.edu.