Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.





Ranger College Home Page

Welcome to the Golemon Library

Flyer for scary story contest October 22

               Address:  Library Hours:  
  Golemon Library | Ranger College Monday-Thursday: 8:00am - 9:30pm  
   1100 College Circle Friday: 8:00am - 1:00pm  
  Ranger, TX 76470 Sunday:  4:30pm - 9:30pm  
       
  Phone:  Email:  
  254-267-7022 library@rangercollege.edu  
       
   

 

 

Popular Databases from our Collection

 

*Ranger College Students, Faculty, and Staff:  How to Access the Ranger College Databases and Usage Tips (Must be logged in to Ranger College email to access the logins and passwords)

 

 

The TexShare Databases allow you to access over 27,000 journals, over 171,000 ebooks, and over 15 million images, videos, and interactive resources.


CINAHL Logo

The cumulative index to nursing and allied health literature. Access to over 5,400 indexed medical journals, over 75 full-text medical journals, and over 125 Evidence-Based care sheets.  A tips and techniques tutorial for CINAHL can be found here.


 

From the United States Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics, a guide to career information about hundreds of occupations.


 

Scholarly books and articles across a broad spectrum of topics in the arts, sciences, and history. Free registration for access to 100 articles per month 


 

Access provided through Texas Tech University. Contains databases and primary sources on a variety of Texas history topics, including music and photo archives, oral histories, maps, periodicals, literature, and thousands of newspapers.

 

 

 

banner that says new releases

 

 

Cover sounding

Soundings: Journeys in the Company of Whales: A Memoir by Doreen Cunningham

In this memoir of motherhood, love, and resilience, a woman and her toddler son follow the grey whale migration from Mexico to northernmost Alaska.

cover pig years

Pig Years by Ellen Gaydos

This captivating memoir is a “startling testimony to the glories and sorrows of raising and harvesting plants and animals” as an itinerant farmhand chronicles the wonders hidden within the ever-blooming seasons of life, death, and rebirth.

cover days of infamy

Days of Infamy: How a Century of Bigotry Led to Japanese American Internment by Lawrence Gladstone

In another unrelenting look at the iniquities of the American justice system, Lawrence Goldstone examines the history of racism against Japanese Americans, exploring the territory of citizenship and touching on fears of non-white immigration to the US.

cover inaugural ballers

Inaugural Ballers: The True Story of the First US Women’s Olympic Basketball Team by Andrew Maraniss

From the New York Times bestselling author of Strong Inside comes the inspirational true story of the birth of women’s Olympic basketball at the 1976 Summer Games and the ragtag team that put US women’s basketball on the map.  Perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin and Daniel James Brown.

cover the high desert

The High Desert: Black. Punk. Nowhere by James Spooner

A formative coming-of-age graphic memoir by the creator of Afro-punk: a young man’s immersive reckoning with identity, racism, clumsy teen love and belonging in an isolated California desert, and a search for salvation and community through punk.

cover teen innovators

Teen Innovators: Nine Young People Engineering a Better World with Creative Inventions by Fred Estes

Teen Innovators tells the stories of discovery and the inventions of nine young students.  For example, twelve-year-old Gitanjali Rao, appalled by the tragedy in Flint, Michigan, found a cheaper, more effective way to test for lead in drinking water. Four undocumented teenagers from an underfunded high school in Phoenix built an underwater robot from spare and found parts. Substituting hard work and creative thinking for money and expensive equipment, they won a national robotics competition, beating a well-funded team from MIT. At fifteen, William Kamkwamba used materials from junkyards near his home in Malawi to build a windmill to generate electricity and pump water for his village.

Cover abuela don't forget me

Abuela, Don’t Forget Me by Rex Ogle

Throughout a coming of age marked by violence and dysfunction, Abuela’s red-brick house in Abilene, Texas, offered Rex the possibility of home, and Abuela herself the possibility for a better life.  Abuela, Don’t Forget Me is a lyrical portrait of the transformative and towering woman who believed in Rex even when he didn’t yet know how to believe in himself.

cover lethal tides

Lethal Tides: Mary Sears and the Marine Scientists who Helped Win World War II by Catherine Musemeche

In Lethal Tides, Catherine Musemeche weaves together science, biography, and military history in the compelling story of an unsung woman who had a dramatic effect on the U.S. Navy’s success against Japan in WWII, creating an intelligence-gathering juggernaut based on the new science of oceanography.

cover the red planet

The Red Planet: A Natural History of Mars by Simon Morden

From the planet’s formation 4.5 billion years ago, through eras that featured cataclysmic meteor strikes, explosive volcanoes and a vast ocean that spanned the entire upper hemisphere, to the long, frozen ages that saw its atmosphere steadily thinning and leaking away into space, planetary geologist Dr. Simon Morden presents a tantalizing vision of our nearest neighbour, its dramatic history, and astonishing present.

cover unretouchable

Unretouchable by Sofia Szamosi

Olive is spending the summer before art school at a coveted internship, helping one of the fashion industry's elite digital-imaging specialists.  After a glamourous New York photoshoot, she learns that taking pictures is only the first step.  She discovers the "violent verbs" (cut, crop, slice, lasso) of image retouching software and the secrets behind "virtual models."

cover acceptance

Acceptance: A Memoir by Emi Nietfeld

A luminous, generation-defining memoir of foster care and homelessness, Harvard and Big Tech, examining society’s fixation with resilience—and its cost.  As a homeless teenager writing college essays in her rusty Toyota Corolla, Emi Nietfeld was convinced that the Ivy League was the only escape from her dysfunctional childhood.  But upward mobility required crafting the perfect resilience narrative.  She had to prove that she was an “overcomer,” made stronger by all that she had endured.

cover diary of a misfit

Diary of a Misfit: A Memoir and a Mystery by Casey Parks

Part memoir, part sweeping journalistic saga:  As Casey Parks follows the mystery of a stranger's past, she is forced to reckon with her own sexuality, her fraught Southern identity, her tortured yet loving relationship with her mother, and the complicated role of faith in her life.

cover rise kobe bryant

The Rise: Kobe Bryant and the Pursuit of Immortality by Mike Sielshki

In researching and writing The Rise, Mike Sielski had a terrific advantage over other writers who have attempted to chronicle Kobe’s life: access to a series of never-before-released interviews with him during his senior season and early days in the NBA.  For a quarter century, these tapes and transcripts preserved Kobe’s thoughts, dreams, and goals from his teenage years, and they contained insights into and told stories about him that have never been revealed before.

cover the colony

The Colony: Faith and Blood in a Promised Land by Sally Denton

An investigation into the November, 2019 killings of nine women and children in Northern Mexico―an event that drew international attention―The Colony examines the strange, little-understood world of a polygamist Mormon outpost.

cover vietnam 59th commemoration

Vietnam War 50th Commemoration: A Time to Honor Texas Edition: Stories of Service, Duty, and Sacrifice

With multiple images on every page, this book of personal stories tells the story of Vietnam, from a service-persons perspective.

cover my name is jason

My Name Is Jason. Mine Too.: Our Story. Our Way.

A stunning visual autobiography of two crazy-talented besties, bestselling and award-winning author Jason Reynolds and painter Jason Griffin, who could never be who they are singularly if they weren’t who they were together.

cover the movement made us

The Movement Made Us: A Father, a Son, and the Legacy of a Freedom Ride by David Dennis, Jr. and David Dennis, Sr.

A dynamic family exchange that pivots between the voices of a father and son, The Movement Made Us is a unique work of oral history and memoir, chronicling the extraordinary story of the Civil Rights Movement of the 1960s and its living legacy embodied in Black Lives Matter.  David Dennis Sr, a core architect of the movement, speaks out for the first time, swapping recollections both harrowing and joyful with David Jr, a journalist working on the front lines of change today.

Please contact us at 254-647-1414 or library@rangercollege.edu.